New (4th version) FSSC 22000

The 4th version of the FSSC 22000 documents has been published

At the very end of 2016, the FSSC has published the new 4th version of the FSSC 22000 documents, which is the result of a long process of discussion with key stakeholders such as industry representatives, government officials, certification and accreditation bodies, training centers.

Among the major significant changes in the structure of documents FSSC 22000:
Part 0 - Definitions;
Part I - Schema Overview;
Part II - Requirements for certification;
Part III - Requirements for the certification process;
Part IV - Requirements for certification bodies;
Part V - Requirements for accreditation bodies;


  • For organizations that have implemented or are planning to implement the requirements of FSSC 22000, it is necessary to read parts 0 to III.
  • Scope of the FSSC 22000 scheme has been extended for transportation and storage, catering, retail/wholesale trade;
  • the requirement to protect food products and prevent its falsification and forgery, including prevention of deliberate contamination of food products, have been added;
  • the information on the inspections practice implementation without advance notice within the certificate  scope have been added;
  • A new gradation of inconsistencies has been added to certification by the certification bodies when auditing - critical inconsistencies;
  • A standardized audit report has been implemented.

Starting from January 1, 2018, audits will be conducted only for compliance with the new version of documents.
You can get acquainted with the new 4-th version of FSSC 22000 on the official website of the international organization.